Even Easier Applesauce

I’m about to make some breakfast muffins for next week, but while I’m waiting for my applesauce to cool, I thought I’d post my applesauce recipe.  This is the absolute, no question, hands-down easiest method to make applesauce I’ve ever used.  Yes, applesauce is not difficult to make as it is, but what if you could find a recipe that you simply combined all the ingredients, walked away and when you came back the apples had even mushed themselves??

Well…

Even Easier Applesauce:

Even Easier Applesauce

Equipment:

  • Slow-cooker, paring knife (and/or apple corer-slicer), a solid and a liquid measuring cup, measuring spoon, cutting board

Ingredients: (This recipe makes about 3-4 cups prepared applesauce.  If you’d like to make more/less, you can multiply up/down and these proportions will still work.)

  • 8 apples, cored, peeled, and cut into bite-size pieces
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup lemon water*
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg

Directions:

1) Add all ingredients to a cool slow cooker.  Cook on High for 3-4 hours. Allow applesauce to cool to room temperature.

2) ENJOY!!

What to Drink? Water with lemon

*I like to add some acid to my applesauce to brighten up the flavor.  This time around, I happened to have left-over grapefruit juice from my Broiled Cinnamon Grapefruit, so I added about 4 Tbsp of the grapefruit juice to 1 cup of water.  Any acidic juice you have on hand would work!

Note: Your applesauce will likely be darker than mine pictured above.  The slow-cooker tends to produce a rich, sweet, brown applesauce.  This was a quick batch that I cut down the cook time on and hand-mashed because I want to go ahead and get these muffins made!

Leave a Reply

