Quick and Easy Mexican-Inspired Millet

In my ongoing quest for cheap, healthy, and environmentally-friendly eats, I have no idea how I’ve missed out on millet until now.  I had heard of millet as a veg-friendly grain, but it never seemed to make it onto my grocery list. Then, I saw it on the shelf of a local bulk grains store and couldn’t believe that this “nutritional powerhouse” I had read about was cheaper than rice!

Anyway, I’ve got a couple of dishes planned to cook today, but I thought I’d start off with a quick lunch before I dive into this week’s meal plan.  As I was making this dish, I realized that it would have been really good with some black beans thrown in, but since I didn’t have any ready, this time I went without.  I also used a couple of yellow baby bell peppers, because that’s what my garden’s cranking out right now, but a jalapeno or two would be excellent in here too!

Mexican-Inspired Millet:

Lunch in under 30 minutes with minimal clean-up? Yes please!!

Equipment:

  • Large saucepan with lid, medium saute pan with lid, knife, cutting board, plate, wooden spoon, stove top
Ingredients:
  • 4 medium tomatoes, diced
  • 1 yellow onion, thinly sliced,
  • 4-5 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
  • 2 ears of corn, cut off the cob
  • 1 bell pepper/mild chili or jalapeno(s) to taste
  • 1/2 cup cooked black beans
  • 1 cup uncooked millet
  • Cumin
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Dried/fresh cilantro to taste (I hate cilantro, but I know sometimes it’s necessary, so I usually use dried because its much milder and easier to control than fresh cilantro)
  • Evoo
  • Kosher salt and ground black pepper
Directions:
  1. Add millet and 2 cups room temp water to the saucepan and bring to a boil over med-high heat.  Lightly salt the water, cover, and reduce the heat.  Let the millet simmer until all the liquid has evaporated, or about 15-20 mins.  Fluff with a fork and set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, prep the veggies.  When cutting the corn off the cob, do so over a plate to catch all the juices so you can add that in with the kernels.  Heat a small amount of evoo in the saute pan over medium heat.  Add the onions and cook until they just start to sweat, or about 2 mins.  Add the garlic and cook another 2 mins.
  3. Add the tomatoes to the saute pan, cover and let simmer 5-7 mins, stirring occasionally.  Then stir in 3-4 generous dashes of cumin, 2-3 hits of cayenne pepper, salt, black pepper, and cilantro to taste (if using fresh cilantro, I’d probably wait until the very end – like step 4 – and just mix it in last minute to let the fresh herb just wilt in with everything else).   Stir in the fresh corn kernels.  Cover and let simmer 2-3 more mins.
  4. Taste the sauce and re-season as needed.  Fold the hot sauce into the millet.  Serve hot.
  5. ENJOY!!
One thought on “Quick and Easy Mexican-Inspired Millet

Leave a Reply

