Roasted Garlic and Basil Hummus

This is a pretty generic recipe for hummus.  This time around, I threw some roasted garlic and fresh basil in, but you can add almost anything you want to a basic hummus set-up.  Aside from being super flexible, this recipe is also ridiculously easy – it just takes a looooong time to prep if you use dried chickpeas (which I really do recommend so you can control the sodium levels and eliminate any preservatives found in canned garbanzo beans).  The only thing I keep forgetting is that chickpeas double in size when they’re re-hydrated, so I almost always make way too much.  This time I’ve got a whopping quart of hummus to get through from just a 1 1/2 cups of dried chickpeas (might be giving some away to the fam this week!).  So, note to self – don’t be fooled! 1 cup is plenty!!

Roasted Garlic and Basil Hummus:

It could be delicious and healthy homemade hummus, or it could be highschool mashed potatoes... Hmmm, tricky tricky!

Equipment:

  • Large food processor (sorry, you really do need the fancy kitchen gear for this one), colander, silicone spatula, large soup pot, strainer, a couple medium-sized bowls, small saute pan, a spoon, stove top
Ingredients:
  • 1 cup dried chickpeas
  • 2-4 Tbsp tahini (to taste)
  • 1-4 Tbsp lemon juice (to taste)
  • Kosher salt and ground black pepper
  • Evoo (or this is a great way to get some omega-rich but temperature sensitive flax oil into your diet)
  • 2-5 cloves garlic (to taste)
  • Other flavors you may want (7-10 fresh basil leave, roasted red peppers, cumin/cayenne pepper, etc)
Directions:
  1. Soak the chickpeas over night in hot water (actually, I usually soak them overnight, replace the water with hot water again in the morning, and let them soak the rest of the day too).  Drain the chickpeas, and boil them 1-2 hours in a large stock pot with lots of water.  Strain the chickpeas again, and rinse with cold water until they’re cool enough to handle.
  2. Fire up a movie and grab a glass of wine or a few little kids and start peeling!  Garbanzo beans have a thick husk on the outside, and if you want smooth hummus, it’s got to go!  But, it is completely edible, so if you’re making hummus to satisfy personal munchies, then texture may not be a concern and you can leave it on.
  3. Once the chickpeas are prepped, throw them in the food processor along with the tahini, lemon juice, whatever other flavors you’re using, and some salt and pepper.  To roast the garlic: heat the garlic in a dry saute pan over med to med-high heat until the papers start to char and you start to smell that amazing roasted garlic aroma.  Peel and trim the cloves and toss them in the food processor too.
  4. Blend the hummus until the chickpeas are smooth.  Scrape the sides of the processor with the spatula and taste and adjust the flavors as needed.  **If you decide to use garlic powder for a quick pantry-alternative, I’ve found that garlic powder gets considerably stronger in the fridge over night, while whole, fresh garlic tends to mellow out.  Keep this in mind if you’re cooking ahead for a party! 
  5. Blend again with adjusted seasonings and flavors, and this time drizzle in Evoo until the hummus has reached a moist smoothness.  This typically takes a lot of oil (I’ve found around 7-10 Tbsp minimum), so just be prepared! Serve chilled with veggies, crackers, toast, or whatever your heart desires.
  6. ENJOY!!
6 thoughts on “Roasted Garlic and Basil Hummus

  1. I’m loving your blog. Hummus is one of the top things I want to make, BUT I don’t have a food processor yet. Even though I’m planning to leave London in a year I’m so tempted to just buy one anyway.

    • Aw thanks! I asked for the food processor for X-mas last year, and it has made my life considerably easier! Honestly, it’s not something that I use everyday, but when I do use it, it usually saves me serious muscle fatigue.

      Thanks for reading and commenting! I’m glad someone else thinks simple food is as interesting as I do! 😀 If only I could get my pictures to look as pretty as yours – any food photo tips?

      • People say you can take nice photos with a point and shoot, but honestly just spending the money and buying a DSLR is totally worth it. It’s brought my pictures to an entirely new level, and I am still learning how to use it! I’m still paying it off, but I don’t regret it at all. I bought a Nikon D5000 and I use it for all my travel photos and food. Also, natural light and Photoshop! I broke down and bought Photoshop as well – big help.
        And yes, I love simple food for so many reasons 🙂

  2. Ahhh I see. I’ve heard that photography really is all about the camera… I guess I’ll have stick trying for natural lighting and just sticking my Kodak’s lens right up in the food. Unfortunately, money’s a little tight these days for anything other than food, gas, and kitty litter. Thanks for the suggestions! I’ll definitely keep that in mind if I ever stumble across the opportunity for second-hand photography gear (people are always surprised when I show them the amazing quality of things that I’ve found second-hand)!!

Leave a Reply

