A Salad to Save the Day

Yeah… It’s been one of those weeks.  Who else has a headache?

I feel you, Cola. I feel you.

I started off my week still reeling from a frustrating and draining weekend – which was only perpetuated by a complete lack of success in the kitchen early on.

The problem with messing up my big dishes of the week, is that in the middle of the work week, I don’t have time/money/energy to cook replacements, and I depend on my pre-made meals lasting me.  So, when I have kitchen flubs or a poorly designed meal-plan, I find myself scrambling each day for a quick, cheap fix that also meets my dietary needs.                                                                                              Btw, ^ this is damn near impossible.

And so, I spent most of the week eating chips, dried fruit, and peanut brittle.  Now, it’s Friday night, and I don’t think I’ve ever wanted a salad more in my entire life!!!  This isn’t really a recipe… because it’s a salad, but it is still good enough to jot down for future reference.  The edamame are crunchy, the onions sharp, the garlic spicy, and the black beans filling.  I served it with a tart lemon, basil, and poppy dressing (aaaaawesome!).

Oh, and can I give a shout-out to locally grown edamame?  That’s just flippin’ smart.

A salad for your refresh button:

Delicious, Nutritious, and EXACTLY what I need right now!!

Ingredients: (serves 2-3)

  • 1/2 cup cooked black beans, lightly seasoned with salt and pepper
  • 1/2 med yellow onion, small dice
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1/4-1/2 lb shelled edamame
  • 1 small head red leaf lettuce
  • 3-4 shiitake mushrooms, stemmed, halved, and sliced

For the Dressing: (from my post on avoiding boring salads)

  • Combine 1/2 clove chopped raw garlic, the juice and zest of 1 lemon (usually about 2 Tbsp juice yielded), 6 Tbsp evoo, 2 tsp+ poppy seeds, 2-3 leaves fresh basil chopped into fine ribbons, 1/2 pinch ground black pepper, and a full pinch of Kosher salt in a small mason jar. Shake and ENJOY!!
2 thoughts on “A Salad to Save the Day

  1. Of course I love the kitty picture!!

    For a split second I saw that salad and I thought the mushrooms were those little pieces of pre-roasted, fake grill mark, sliced chicken you can buy in a pack at the grocery. I was so confused, because I couldn’t imagine you putting that highly processed junk meat on a salad and posting it! I don’t know why I thought that, because they clearly look like sliced mushrooms!

    Dressing sounds fab, by the way. I’m sure I’ve said before but lemon and basil are my absolute favorites.

  2. Haha! No I won’t even go near the vegetarian Ch’kin strips, but after you said it, I can’t stop seeing chicken strips now!

    Lemon and basil is a combo that just can’t be beat (well, except maybe by lemon and thyme? Oooh! that’s a close one…!)

Leave a Reply

