Hock-less Split Pea Soup

This soup is souper easy 😀 and delicious.  It just doesn’t photograph well… you’ve been warned.  I tried to make it look prettier with a drizzle of evoo, a dash of smoked paprika, and some crumbled peanuts, but there isn’t much I could do to improve the photographability of a bowl of pureed green peas.  Oh! And this soup would also be excellent topped with a drizzle of Magic Sauce (the sweet raw peanuts and smoked paprika were pretty dern good too though!).

I like my split pea soup on the thicker side (especially now that it’s colder), so feel free to thin it out a bit with a splash or two of stock/water as needed.  Also, I used a mix of yellow and green split peas, because that’s what I had on hand.  Split peas are really inexpensive, so this soup is pantry- and wallet-friendly with just a few ingredients.  The basic soup’s recipe is from 101 Cookbooks, and with so few ingredients, even my limited variations creates a totally new soup.  This soup’s short list of ingredients is long on flavor, so why not give it a try some chilly weekend?

Split Pea Soup:

Yeah, I know it looks like baby food, but it's just soooooo tasty!!

Equipment:

  • Big soup pot with lid, big soup spoon, blender, knife, cutting board, stove

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups dried split peas, rinsed and picked through
  • 2 carrots, thinly sliced
  • 3 med yellow onions, diced
  • 1-3 tsp chipotle peppers in adobo, chopped (to taste)
  • 5 cups warm water or veggie stock
  • Evoo
  • Kosher salt and ground black pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Over medium heat, warm a drizzle of evoo in the bottom of your soup pot.  Add the onion and saute 2-3 mins, or until just starting to soften.  Add the sliced carrot and saute another 3-5 mins, or until the veg are completely soft.
  2. Stir in the chipotle peppers and the split peas.  Let cook 30-90 seconds, but don’t let the peas make things too dry or you’ll run the risk of burning the veg.
  3. Add the warm water, cover, and bring to a boil.  Once boiling, reduce the heat, and let simmer 30-40 mins, or until the peas are tender.
  4. Working in batches, carefully blend the hot soup, being sure to vent the steam often to avoid hot soup explosions (or just wait for the soup to cool to room temperature before blending).  If you’ve got a fancy submersion blender then have at it!
  5. ENJOY!!
7 thoughts on “Hock-less Split Pea Soup

  1. Sooo glad you posted this!! I’ve been looking for a split pea soup that doesn’t require ham but would still be really tasty. I’ve found that smoked paprika really goes a long way as a meat type flavor!

    • I really like the chipotle as a nice kick. I realized cooking vegan is a lot easier when I stop trying to substitute something and just do what tastes good. I recommend checking out the original recipe if you’re looking for a plain pea soup base (but I always keep in the carrot – who doesn’t add think carrots rock in soups?). It’s a little more traditional (and better photographed!).

  2. I have always been nervous about trying split pea soup, but this is a really great recipe. I added some garlic and swapped the chipotle peppers out for ancho instead, because that is what I had around. I will make this again 🙂

    (Oh, and a giant double recipe of this only cost me around $5. I made my own stock with veg ends I keep in the freezer. We will eat this all week!)

    • Isn’t it great? This is one of my all-time fav recipes because it epitomizes how I feel about simple, delicious, affordable, and accessible food.

      I’m so glad you tried something new and liked it!! I felt the same way when I first tried this soup (without the peppers). I will definitely try it with other chilis – I feel like it gives it something special, you know? Although, I’ve made this a few times with just stock, peas, onions, and carrots and it’s equally awesome

Leave a Reply

