Potatoes and Shallots Baked in a Basil, Garlic Vinaigrette

Well it’s January, and if you live in the northern hemisphere, that means it’s likely that you’re enjoying a few more potatoes this time of year than normal.  I happen looooove potatoes.  They’re especially helpful as satisfying alternatives to bread in this chilly weather for those of us with gluten sensitivities.

The only problem with many of the potato recipes I know and grew up on is that they’re loaded with cream and/or cheese.  This extra fat coating around a potato’s carbs can quickly lead to the dreaded food-coma.  When it’s winter time and sheer availability means potatoes in every meal, then the last thing I want is to have that “I shouldn’t have” feeling after everything I eat!  So, this week I thought I’d post some light and healthy potato dishes that are satisfying and for both my taste buds and my waist.

This potato dish is loaded with cauliflower, spinach, carrots, and shallots.  To keep it light, the sauce is a tangy vinaigrette that is a complete 180 from your typical creamy potato bakes.  This dish is an awesome example of how to cook for some with dietary restrictions (like my gluten-intolerant vegan self): Innovation > Imitation!

Potatoes and Veggies in a Tangy Basil, Garlic Vinaigrette:

Mmmmm that's a bowl of hot, steamy goodness

Equipment:

  • Measuring cup (at least 1 cup), med/large casserole dish with lid or dutch oven, fork or small whisk, measuring spoons, knife, cutting board, oven.

Ingredients:

  • 8-10 medium red new potatoes, sliced into 1/4″ slivers
  • 2 carrots, sliced into thin rounds
  • 5-6 small shallots, halved and sliced thin
  • 1/8-1/4 lb of spinach, cleaned
  • 1/2 head of cauliflower, cut into big chunks/florets and then sliced into 1/4″ pieces
  • 5-6 fresh basil leaves, sliced into ribbons
  • 4 cloves garlic, diced
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp white wine
  • 3 Tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 heaping tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/3 cup vegetable stock
  • 1/3 cup evoo
  • Additional salt and pepper to season

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450 F.
  2. Prep your veggies.  Combine the basil, garlic, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, wine, vinegar, mustard, veggie stock, and evoo in a mixing cup.  This should come out to be about 1 cup of vinaigrette.  Whisk well with a fork/whisk until combined.
  3. Splash a small amount of the dressing on the bottom of the casserole dish.  Cover the bottom with a layer of sliced potatoes.  On top of the potatoes sprinkle a layer of carrots, then cover with a layer of sliced cauliflower, and a thick layer of shallots.  Splash more dressing to give the veggies a nice coating.  Top with a full layer of spinach.  Season the spinach with a sprinkle of salt and pepper.
  4. Repeat until all of the veggies are used and/or the casserole dish is full. Potatoes –> Carrots –> Cauliflower –> Lots of Shallots –> Vinaigrette –> Spinach –> S&P.

    I love that moment when I open the lid, look down, and think "Oh, thank God that worked."

  5. Top the casserole with a layer of potatoes and then pour all of the leftover dressing on that top layer, making sure everybody’s feeling the love.  Bake, covered at 450 F for 1 hour or until the casserole has sunk a bit, the dressing is bubbling, and the potatoes are soft (my dish shown above was filled to the brim before baking). Serve hot.
  6. Enjoy!!
8 thoughts on “Potatoes and Shallots Baked in a Basil, Garlic Vinaigrette

    • Great! I was really happy with how it came out. It was one of those things that while I was chopping the potatoes, I was just kind of looking around, trying to think of what to put with them and what I had. Sometimes, I luck out and get one right!! Thanks for dropping a line, and let me know how you like it! 😀

    • Haha! Thanks! I get in these moods every couple of months that I need to change the furniture around – this week I’ve been a little under the weather, so this made an awesome substitute! 🙂

  1. This recipe is really delicious. The dressing goes well with the veg, especially the cauliflower. Once again, this is a very economical pot of food that will last my family a few days (which means I don’t have to cook tomorrow!) Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

