20 Minute Broccoli and Portobello Soup

Last night, while chopping some parsley for a roasted veggie casserole, I became separated from the tip of my left index finger.

This resulted in two major changes:

  1. I am officially banning myself from watching any and all Gordon Ramsey programs while cooking.  He’s just so good looking and dramatic and British that he’s become too distracting.  He will be dearly missed.
  2. I have to dramatically change what I was going to make this week to recipes that require significantly less chopping and less left-hand activity.

Things are also taking me way too long to do (like typing), so I’m also a bit behind on the work I needed to get done this weekend.  Taken all together, this simple soup recipe is exactly what I need.  It’s incredibly flavorful, has a short ingredients list, and can be prepped, cooked and served in under 30 minutes.  It came out so well that I had to add it to the ol’ recipe box for the next time I have a Kitchen Nightmare (buh-dum ting!) 😉

Quick Broccoli and Mushroom Soup:

If you want to thicken it, I'd bet this would be awesome with some sauteed potatoes.

Equipment:

  • Large soup pot, wooden spoon, blender, large bowl, ladle, knife, cutting board, stove top

Ingredients:

  • 4 yellow onions, halved and sliced into 1/4″ half-moons
  • 1 large or 2 medium heads of broccoli, cut into florets
  • 4 cups of warm vegetable stock
  • 3 large portobellos, stemmed, gills scraped out, and cut into bite-sized chunks (Next time I’d recommend about 1/4 lb. criminis sliced thin.  I think they’d look much prettier floating in this thin-brothed soup, but I went with what I had)
  • Kosher salt and ground black pepper
  • Evoo

Directions:

  1. Warm a drizzle of evoo in the bottom of your soup pot over medium heat.  Toss in the sliced onions and saute with two very generous pinches of Kosher salt and a hit of pepper for 2-3 minutes or until they start to soften.  This is a simple soup, so we want to aggressively season each step to make sure all of the flavors shine!
  2. Toss in the broccoli.  Season with another big pinch of salt and pepper.  Saute another 3-4 minutes, or until the broccoli is bright green and hot through but still crunchy.
  3. Add the warm vegetable stock and let the flavors mingle for a few minutes.  Then ladle the hot soup into the blender. Carefully pulse the soup, allowing ample opportunities for the steam to vent to prevent explosions.  Blend in batches until all of the soup has been blended to your desired texture.  Pour the soup in a large bowl and set aside.
  4. Warm another drizzle of evoo over medium heat in the bottom of the soup pot.  Saute the mushrooms with a pinch of salt and pepper for 2-3 minutes or until the mushrooms have just started to soften.  Add the soup back to the pot and let simmer about 5 minutes to let all the flavors start to mingle.  Taste and re-season as needed.  Serve hot (it’s really good poured over some leftover rice).
  5. Enjoy!!
2 thoughts on “20 Minute Broccoli and Portobello Soup

    • Great! Glad you liked it! Soups are filling and waist- and wallet-friendly. Normally I do add some sort of carb to my soups so they have some more weight to them and curb hunger for a longer time. I poured a big scoop of this over some leftover brown rice and it was absolutely awesome.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

